Handgun Purchase Permit
Pursuant to Nebraska Revised Statute 69-2403 a firearm purchase certificate is required to purchase, lease, rent, or receive a handgun. The law applies to both retail and private party transactions. The law also prohibits selling, leasing, renting, or transferring a handgun to a person who does not possess a handgun certificate.
A certificate shall not be required if:
- The person acquiring the handgun is a licensed firearms dealer under federal law;
- The handgun is an antique handgun;
- The person acquiring the handgun is authorized to do so on behalf of a law enforcement agency;
- The transfer is a temporary transfer of a handgun and the transferee remains (i) in the line of sight of the transferor or (ii) within the premises of an established shooting facility;
- The transfer is between a person and his or her spouse, sibling, parent, child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or grandparent;
- The person acquiring the handgun is a holder of a valid permit under the Concealed Handgun Permit Act; or
- The person acquiring the handgun is a peace officer as defined in section 69-2429.
The York Police Department issues Handgun Purchase Certificates to residents of the city of York at least 21 years of age. A fee of $5.00 cash and a current photo identification is required at the time of application. Approval or denial is received within 72 hours of the application in accordance with Nebraska Revised Statute 69-2406.
Certificates are valid, statewide, for three years. Applicants must re-apply for a certificate upon expiration.